WORKOUT MUSIC

If you know me at all then you know that I LOVE music. Most of my money is spent on concert & festival tickets and that’s been the story for most of my life and now that I live right near London I get to see even more bands play. While revising for my uni exams I would create numerous playlists on Spotify and listen to them for hours on end. When I say hours I mean like 6 hours straight. Music helps me concentrate but also it distract me from a lot of things that are going on in my life. If things get a bit too crazy I close my bedroom door, put some headphones on and press play.

I think that is the reason that I really like to listen to music while I exercise, I don’t get bored and I concentrate more on the song than on what I’m actually doing thus preventing me from focusing on how tired I’m getting or how hard the exercise is. Another great thing about exercising, especially running, while listening to music is that it masks my breathing. I understand that this sounds a bit strange but even when going to sleep sometimes I have to have music on in the background because it freaks me out when I concentrate on my own breathing pattern because I become fixated on it and then start to freak that my heart rate is too low or too high (strange, weird, irrational – I know). 

When I have music in my ears it does’t fully register how tired I am which allows me to go further for longer. Also listening to a song with a good beat helps with my running rhythm 😀 

My workout music changes on a weekly basis and it also changes in regards to what workout I am doing at the time. If I am running a long distance I prefer a medium tempo song to a fast hard rock or dance track because I feel as though I can’t keep up with the rhythm of a fast song which tires me out even more and effects me mentally. See, music is a massive psychological thing. Get it wrong and it can have a negative effect on your workout but get it right and you’ll be bossing that gym like nobody’s business! 

Here is what I’m currently listening to while running/lifting:

 

Stay Strong, Stay Healthy

L x

Leave a comment